Biomedical Center Munich

Language Selection

Breadcrumb Navigation


Research Consortium - BMC

The Biomedical Center is a non-incorporated research consortium consisting of the 8 founding chairs and institutes of the medical faculty of the Ludwig-Maximilians-University of Munich. Aims and objectives of the association are to promote and conduct interdisciplinary research in basic and applied biomedicine, in particular facilitating close collaboration of preclinical and clinical research groups. For high quality technical support, the BMC runs several core facilities providing outstanding analytical expertise and instruments for cutting-edge biomolecular techniques.
BMC members include all principal investigators (professors, indepedent groupleaders and core facility heads). The managing BMC Board consists of the departmental chairs and 4 additional elected delegates. Spokespersons for the BMC Board are the Acting Chair (Prof. Dr. Peter B. Becker) and two deputies (currently Prof. Martin Kerschensteiner and Prof. Michael Kiebler). 
All BMC activities are coordinated by the managing director and scientific coordinator, Dr. Henrike Klinker.

Current Members of the Biomedical Center (in alphabetical order)